April 4, 2018 will mark the 50th anniversary of one of Indianapolis’ best moments.

We’re using it to create another.

As we approach the 50th anniversary of Robert Kennedy’s extraordinary speech, we are initiating a conversation on what that event can be.

We believe that a lineup of national and local presenters, a comprehensive event plan, and an ambitious communication strategy will impact the city in multiple ways:

  • Legacy programs and KKMI projects that endure long after the event
  • National media coverage that elevates the city
  • A renewed commitment across the city to diminishing racial conflict

We are building a group of leaders and stakeholders who have pledged to help fund the event and contribute their time and talents.

Keep watching as this work continues, and join our mailing list to stay informed.

50th Anniversary Honorary Co-Chairs

Hon. Joseph Hogsett
Mayor, City of Indianapolis

Hon. Eric Holcomb
Governor, State of Indiana

Kerry Kennedy
President, RFK Human Rights

James Morris
Vice Chairman, Pacers Sports and Entertainment

William Shrewsberry
President/CEO, Shrewsberry & Associates

Diane Simon
Founder, Global Green USA

Hon. Billie Breaux
Senator, Indiana General Assembly (ret.)
Marion County Auditor (ret.)


50th Anniversary Honorary Committee

Hon. Jean Breaux
Indiana Senate 34th District, State of Indiana

Rep. Susan Brooks
U.S. House of Representatives, 5th Congressional District of Indiana

Rev. Thomas Brown
Retired Senior Pastor, Ebenezer Baptist Church

Michael Browning
President, Browning

Rep. Andre Carson
U.S. House of Representatives, 7th Congressional District of Indiana

Michael Huber
President, Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce

John Herbst
President & CEO, Indiana Historical Society

Rev. Jeffrey Johnson
Pastor, Eastern Star Church

Derek King
Professor, Martin University

Hon. Maggie Lewis
President, Indianapolis Marion County City-County Council

Hon. Teresa Lubbers
Commissioner for Higher Education, Indiana Commission for Higher Education

Hon. Michael McQuillen
Minority Leader, Indianapolis Marion County City-County Council

Mark Miles
CEO, Hulman & Company

Hon. Vop Osili
Councilman, Indianapolis City County Council

Brian Payne
President and CEO, Central Indiana Community Foundation

Sonja Robinson
Director of Minority Inclusion, NCAA

Rob Smith
President, Eli Lilly Foundation

Jeff Smulyan
President, Emmis Communications

John Thompson
President and CEO, First Electric Supply

Joe Whitsett
Principal, TWG Development